Cate – The Bad Blogger

So it's been well over a month since we visited. My bad. Between one family health crisis and another, blogging just hasn't been in the cards.

So what's been happening in Cate's writing world? A lot. And not so much. Depends on how you look at it. Since I last dragged my behind in here, I've finished LET'S DISH. Not only finished writing, but did a lightning-fast edit to get it off to an agent who requested a full copy of the manuscript. Yay me! Since then, I've heard notadamnthing, but that's not unusual. Writers must, above all, be patient.

I hate being patient.

After forcing myself to take a week off (and wondering for that entire week what the rest of the world does when they're not feeling guilty about not writing), I stepped up to the plate and started writing a new novel tentatively titled TAKING HER MEDICINE. Bad, bad title, I know. I'd give you a quick plot synopsis, but shortly after starting it, I was off to Mayo Clinic for the third time this summer with my youngest.

So I'll reveal a little personal info here. I am the mother of three absolutely GORGEOUS boys. Yes, I am a little biased, but I should be. I'm their mom! They are all three brilliant (again, biased, but others have told me so, too, so I have a little data to support my foregone conclusion), but that doesn't mean we don't have our issues.

My oldest, now 10, has a rare genetic disorder the details of which I won't bore you with. Suffice it to say the end result is autism-like behavior and abilities. But he's sweet as sugar, I tell ya! My middle child is healthy as the proverbial horse,but had a bit of a rough start and an appendectomy a year ago. My youngest was the healthy one of the bunch. Up until last spring, that is. That's when he had a seizure and, well, we started living at Mayo Clinic.

So I was on my way back from Mayo with the little one after hearing the absolutely fabulous news that yes, he has a brain tumor, but it's benign and slow-growing and will likely never cause a problem. I was feeling pretty good about the whole thing, thinking we could relax for awhile. That's when the phone rang telling me my mother-in-law had fallen and could we get to the hospital as soon as possible. We no more than get her settled in and on the road to recovery when my mother starts having health problems.

Sound like fiction? I wish!

So a lot of bloggers are talking today about how to write when the world is falling apart around you, be it from terrorism, floods, hurricanes, or personal issues. The short answer is sometimes you don't. Sometimes you just can't. Sometimes that has to take a back-burner to whatever is going on. Then again, sometimes it can save you, which is what I found.

I started writing again shortly after my oldest began showing difficulties due to his condition when he was about 3. It was my escape, my way of getting away from the negative things reality had thrown my way. I just dabbled, mind you, putting some thoughts onto paper. But it was writing. It helped me cope with what I needed to do for my son. I kept writing at that point, doing more and more every day until I got to where I am today.

I try to write every day, but sometimes it doesn't happen. At this point, though, it is a job to me and I know I need to put in the hours. That helps, too, not letting myself wallow in the everyday grind and the crap that the real world dishes out. So TAKING HER MEDICINE isn't going too far right now, but it will. I will refocus and my characters will start talking to me again. And then I'll have a whole new world to escape to.

2 Comments

Filed under It's A Writing Life

2 responses to “Cate – The Bad Blogger

  1. Just passing through and saw your site. Great Blog! I’ll check in occasionally.

    I have a computer service Sandy Springs site/blog.

    Come and check it out if you get time šŸ™‚

  2. Hey, you have a great blog here! I’m definitely going to bookmark you!

    I have a atlanta dancers site/blog. It pretty much covers atlanta dancers related stuff.

    Come and check it out if you get time :-)–>