Boys will be Boys– Except when I’m in Charge!

There has been some controversy as of late about controlling children in public places.

As you may know, I have kids. Three boys, to be precise, and trust me when I say my boys are decidedly boys. They are wild and rambuctious, as boys should be. At home. Outside. NOT at a restaurant or store.

Mothers are boycotting suposedly "children unfriendly" establishments because they feel that if their little angels make a peep, they will be asked to leave. Au contraire, ladies. I doubt anyone feels that way at all. They say kids will be kids, that they have meltdowns from time to time. I agree. They do. But that's not what we're talking about here.

Everyday I see more and more examples of bad parenting. Let me correct this: NON parenting. You have to actually do something to be considered a bad parent. These people will gladly let their little urchins run wild in restaurants and stores. Perhaps they will occasionally shoot a "stop it, Johnny" at the kid, but they won't do anything about it. And the kid knows it. So why bother behaving when being a brat is so much more fun and Mom and Dad ain't gonna do diddly about it!

So my kids are perfect, right? Ha! I wish. And, by the way, neither am I. But when we are in a public place, particularly a restaurant, my children stay put. They are not even tempted to go running around. That is, until they see other kids doing it. Then temptating gets to be too great. This is when I give them fair warning, then get them out of the situation.

For example, we used to dine fairly frequently with a couple and their three kids. However, everytime these supposedly well-behaved children finished a meal (or even before they finished) they would be crawling on the chairs or rolling around on the floor wrestling one another. The parents never said a word. My children, of course, wanted in on the fun. I got the dirtiest stares from this woman when I would tell my kids to sit down. After a few times of this, we just stopped having dinner with these folks.

So I'm preaching. Yes, I totally am. People, businesses are having to remind you to take care of your children? How ridiculous is that?

Comments Off on Boys will be Boys– Except when I’m in Charge!

Filed under The One Where I Waffle On About The Kids

Comments are closed.