Back in the Saddle Again

I know when I started this blog that I wouldn't be blogging every day. I even figured there would weeks that would go by when I would not blog because–let's face it–I have three kids and a full time job. Oh, and then there is that husband thing. Do you know when you marry a guy, he actually wants attention? Who knew?

I never figured it would be quite this long.

I have also noticed another disturbing trend. Back in the dark ages when I blogged every day, I wrote every day… and not just the blog. I wrote four books in three years. It's taken me two years to write 1/2 of two different books. Which means it is time to get serious again.

Not that I have been idle in my absence. Oh no! I've gotten a promotion at work, built a new patio in my back yard, gone fishing with the kids endlessly, and actually started writing a new book. A mystery, if you can believe it. Not that I don't love mystery. I adore mystery. A lot of what I read is mystery, including my favorite Nancy Martin Blackbird Sisters. I grew up on Alfred Hitchcock anthologies and Agatha Christies, for Pete's Sake. But actually write one? Oh no, I don't have that kind of talent.

I also grew up playing violin; a talent I have sorely neglected for the past decade. So when I had this idea for a violin-playing, Sherlock Holmes wannabe, you know I had to start writing it. And I love it. It's fun! Which means maybe– just maybe, mind you– I will actually start putting aside housework and building patios and plumbing and all that crap to start writing regularly again.

In other words, you'll be seeing a lot more of me from now on.

Oh, and that patio? Take a look and see. Perhaps I should stick to writing.New Patio

Comments Off on Back in the Saddle Again

Filed under It's A Writing Life

Comments are closed.