‘Cause I Have a Thing for Really Old Movies

When I was a kid– actually, I should say teenager since we didn't have cable before then– when I would get sick, Mom and I would sit on the couch and watch AMC until all hours of the night. Now this was in the days before you could watch Tom Cruise and Julia Roberts on that channel. We're talking Clark Gable and Tyrone Power and the classic leading men. When I had the flu in my Junior year of high school, I got to watch Lucy and Desi movies– not just I Love Lucy, but the pair driving around in a camper! It was where I first saw Bringing Up Baby and Philadelphia Story. Just like all the girls in the 30s and 40s, I fell in love with Cary Grant and Clark Gable, but there was one unlikely hero I fell for.

William Powell. William Powel and Myrna Loy

This weekend, I ran across a run of William Powell and Myrna Loy movies, starting off with the Thin Man. (The dog in the middle is Asta, by the way. Hilarious creature.) I love that movie! And since I am currently trying to write a mystery with a comical twist, I thought it might inspire me. And I was right.

While watching Powell and Loy, I got to thinking of my characters and clarifying them in my head. Not that I ma basing any of my characters directly from either one of them, but I am sure pulling out aspects. And then I got to thinking of another Powell movie I love, My Man Godfrey. Carole Lombard plays Irene Bullock, who is a tad bit scatterbrained and just manic as all get out.

My Man Godfrey

She's perfect for my main character, who is prone to fits of nonsensical rambling which my detective, Rex Isely, has to routinely snap her out of. (Yikes! Talk about rambling and poor sentence structure!)

So after watching my black and white movie night, I sat down yesterday and put down 2,500 words. Which is more than I've written in the last two months put together. So is it the blogging? Is it the old movie obsession? Who knows! But I think tonight I just might have to dig out my William Powell movie collection… for a little inspiration.

Comments Off on ‘Cause I Have a Thing for Really Old Movies

Filed under It's A Writing Life

Comments are closed.