NaNo– What A Joke!

Hey! Here’s the post I lost the other day! It saved it. Hehehe… not that it’s relevant anymore, but…

So I did NaNoWriMo this year. Why did I do that? What was the point? To prove that I no longer have a schedule that fits 50,000 words into one month?

Well, to be fair, if I were really dedicated to it, I could fit 50K into a month again. I remember my first NaNo, nursing a baby in one hand and typing with the other. Um… not quite. Now that I do my math, I realize that my first NaNo was in 2002 when the baby was 2. And there is no way I nursed that long. Nope, the nursing and typing was while writing my first, completely unreadable book. The point is, when I really wanted to write every night, I did. Now, somehow, I am not that dedicated to NaNo.

In my opinion, NaNo is for people who want to write a book. A lot of people who have written books do NaNo, too, and it works for them. It worked for me twice. But I’ve written five novels now. When is it time for me to say when on the whole NaNo thing? I’m thinking it’s at having written five novels.

So I didn’t write 50K last month, nor did I finish the book. But I will. Oh, I’ll admit that I don’t write as much as I used to, in the days before heavy duty 9-5 responsibilities and Cub Scouts, but I am still very capable of writing a novel front to back. Not finishing NaNo not withstanding. So will I do NaNo next year? Nope. No more beating my head agai

Comments Off on NaNo– What A Joke!

Filed under It's A Writing Life

Comments are closed.