The Week from H-E-Double Hockey Sticks

One week ago this morning I woke up at 6 AM to let the dog out. When I looked down into my basement, I saw the tell-tale puddles that told me we’d flooded. The night before, the rain had been unrelenting. Little did I know at that point we’d recieved 9 inches of rain in 24 hours, 3 of which came in one hour alone.

So I got up the husband and we started bailing, but the water was still coming in. We saved what we could and left the rest to chance as the water started seeping into the outlets.

I walked out into my front lawn to get some air. I was pissed beyond belief. But it was when I looked up the street that I realized just how lucky we really were. Two blocks north of us was completely under water. We ended up with 4 inches. We got very lucky.

I won’t go into detail of how this week unfolded– I’m too tired. We lost pretty much everything that was in the basement. I get to go buy a new washing machine today. But they are estimating that some 200 houses in town will need to be condemned. In a town where no one has flood insurance- and for those who do, like us, it doesn’t really cover anything- a lot of people are really, really screwed.

So my presence this summer may be spotty. We’re just about done with clean-up, but there is a lot of work to be done to rebuild. But even as I whine about how my carpet is all gone and we lost a computer, etc, I know we’re truly lucky to even have a house to live in. We won’t be recarpeting, by the way. Can you say vinyl?

1 Comment

Filed under Life? You Mean I Have To Have A Life?

One response to “The Week from H-E-Double Hockey Sticks

  1. Oh, I’m so so sorry. That truly sucks.