Hardly Plotted and the Month of Madness

NaNo is right around the corner, and I’m starting to panic a bit.  Not because I don’t know what I’m going to write. I never know what I’m going to write. Nope. It’s just that my schedule is filling up pretty quickly here. And I didn’t mean for it to!

November 10th is a day I dread the most. A while back, we scheduled a baby shower for a friend at work. From 1-3, with a little set up and tear down around the edges. No big deal. Then Son #1’s teacher asked me to play hostess at a banquet that night for Special Olympics. Again, not that huge of a time commitment. I can do that. Oh, but there’s a whole Special Olympics Bowling Tournament attached to that, which runs three days, and yes, Son #1 will be participating. Okay. I can do this. Somehow. But then add to it it’s the day we pick up our Cub Scout popcorn orders and I’m starting to panic a little.

Oh, and did I mention I’m getting carpet installed that following Monday? And need to empty and paint the room first?

I think we can officially call that the weekend from hell.

So let’s assume I survive it, and come home from work Monday afternoon to a room full of gorgeous, luxurious new carpet! I’ve been waiting for this for ten years! Yes, I am excited. But I’ll have this gorgeous empty room. I will need to put furniture back into it.  And since we’re putting new furniture into it, some of which we’ve already purchased and are storing, that means I get to spend that day and evening putting together my new furniture. And hooking up the cable box again, which could take days.

Basically, I think I’ve just written off a week of NaNo for the bloody house again. (Did I mention that the basement shower is allllmost done? Just need to seal the grout and hang the shower curtain! And then do the rest of the bathroom. Hmmm.)

But on the up side, I can spend the last two weeks of November in my lovely redesigned living room writing brilliant prose.

Yeah, like I’m going to get a shot at the living room. And brilliant is a subjective term.

Comments Off on Hardly Plotted and the Month of Madness

Filed under It's A Writing Life

Comments are closed.