The Fruits of My Labors

As those of you who frequent this blog know, I spent the bulk of this summer rebuilding my basement from a flood. The last room to finish is the bathroom. I still have one side of it to do – installing the vanity and putting in the floor. However, I spent hours and hours working on the shower. I tiled it myself, and used the big 8 x 10 tiles and accent tile and everything. It was my first attempt at tiling, and, if I do say so myself, it came out very well.

However, for a while, I was hesitant to actually use the shower. I didn’t trust my own tiling work and basic plumbing. It was bound to leak. Well, I am pleased to say that I am writing this entry with damp hair and that just-out-of-a-hot-shower relaxation from a pleasant 15 minutes in my basement shower. The shower I built, if you can believe it. Sometimes I can’t.

I have to say, though, that there is nothing compare to the feeling I have right now. I had a wonderful, relaxing, soothing shower, and it was even better as I looked around me and could remember the time spent laying every tile, grouting the seams, and sealing it all up. The caulk was smoothed by my own fingers. I did this!

Yes, I’m probably more excited about that than I should be, but to forge ahead and do the work myself was a giant leap of faith for me. And I did it! It works!

Yeah, it’s just a shower, but that giant leap of faith inspires me to take more. I’m debating going to National Conference in San Francisco this summer, mostly because it costs a small fortune. How can I justify that expense? I think that will be another giant leap of faith – faith in me and faith in my work.

After all, if the shower feels fantastic, imagine what I’ll feel like when I can hold my own book in my hands.

Comments Off on The Fruits of My Labors

Filed under Life? You Mean I Have To Have A Life?

Comments are closed.