In Mourning

He’s dead and gone. With one last sparkle of life, the little red light flashed and faded, and my beloved laptop left this world.

Yes, my laptop. I’ve been having some trouble with it for awhile – it wouldn’t believe it was plugged in when it was. You’d have to wiggle it juuuuust so to get the sweet spot, and then you were good to go. But when it took me ten minutes to find that sweet spot yesterday morning, I knew it was time to go to the computer doctor.

“There’s nothing we can do,” he said. “I’m afraid it’s terminal.”  But if you left it in juuuust the right place, it could run. Sometimes. So the idea was to give it to the kids and I’d get a new one. Son #3 was beside himself excited about having a second internet capable computer. I was excited for him, too.

So I bought a new laptop, went to get the info I needed off the old one and… nothing. It wouldn’t power up at all. I tried a different power supply.  That’s when I got the spark, the crackle, and the dying. Whatever we did at the comptuer repair shop severed the last connection to…to…to whatever it was hanging onto. And since a piece of the plastic is broken off, there’w nothing that can be done. What a waste.

Son #3 is seriously disapointed. I feel bad for him, too. And now I have to pay someone to go in and get all my stuff off my hard drive. Thank God the books were backed up! But now I have to learn to deal with Vista. Yick.

3 Comments

Filed under Life? You Mean I Have To Have A Life?

3 responses to “In Mourning

  1. I was there at the beginning of this year. The power deal was just the same, and I thought I’d hate Vista too, but I actually like it. I don’t like using WP anymore.

    I can still find my laptop’s sweet spot once in a while, but the effort is great and the rewards aren’t. Even my kids, at first thrilled at the idea of using a laptop, don’t even try anymore.

    But it IS hard and DOES require a period of mourning to switch computers.

    I read somewhere the other day that a writer has both a Mac and PC and uses both (I can’t remember who), and I think this is VERY WEIRD. I like *my* computer, and I don’t want to share it, and I don’t want to adjust to anything else. It doesn’t take long for me to make my mark on it.

    And like Lani, my new laptop came with a webcam, but I rarely turn my webcam on. No one needs to see that….

  2. That should be XP not WP. LOL

  3. Thanks, Linda. Yeah, I’m slowly getting used to it, but I have to find everything again. Yick. But the new laptop is fast, even if the mouse pad is too sensitive and I sometimes find myself writing four pages away from where I had been. LOL