Looking to ’09

In her Christmas cards this year, my mother accidentally wished everyone a happy 2010. I can understand this, mostly because in my good old day job, I am always looking a week ahead. Why not look a year ahead? Especially since the economy sucks and 2009 is most likely going to be an uphill struggle. But it will be uphill, and I have a lot of good things going on in 2009.

I am not making resolutions this year, because I generally don’t follow through. I did lose weight in 2008, but not as much as I wanted. I also managed to get two book deals in 2008 – one right before my birthday and one right before Christmas. Lovely presents, if you ask me. So in 2009 I have two e-books coming out. YAY! This is cool. Admittedly not quite as cool as having a print release, but still cool.

So what do I want to see out of 2009? Well, firstly I am going to re-write an old book, now titled Courting Kismet. I hope to take this to an agent and maybe even break into New York this year. That would be terrific. I’d like to write a completely new book this year, too,  though I have three ideas currently brewing in my head and need to pick one.

On a personal level, I am looking forward to watching my oldest son compete in his second season of Special Olympics. He starts basketball practice right after the holidays. My second son will start middle school in the fall of 2009, and that opens up more opportunities for him, including Odyssey of the Mind and Academic Olympics. The youngest will finally be able to come into his own without the spectre of his brothers at the same school, not to mention starting Little League this summer. Yes, lots to look forward to in 2009.

So what are you all hoping to accomplish in 2009? If you make resolutions, what are they? Whatever you do, let’s hope 2009 is stellar for us all!

2 Comments

Filed under It's A Writing Life, Life? You Mean I Have To Have A Life?

2 responses to “Looking to ’09

  1. Good luck to your eldest with the SO.

    I’m not big on resolutions because history shows that my willpower lasts about, oh, ten minutes? The only resolution I did make and keep was 2007’s – to get serious about my writing and start submitting to editors. Which I did. And curiously enough I got my first contract right before my birthday and my second right before Christmas. How strange is that that you did the same?

    I think my resolution for 2009 will be “more of the same.” In other words, Butt in Chair, Hands on Keyboard.

  2. Yup, me, too. Gotta keep working. You write and write and write in hopes of that first contract, then you realize when it’s signed it just means more work. LOL