I’m Supposed to be Writing

It’s a familiar lament among writers, I think. We’re all geared up to go, ready to work our little fingers to the bone, and then we just… don’t. Or can’t. Heck, maybe won’t. I was all set to work on Courting Kismet tonight and haven’t even cracked the file. I am such a loser.

So let me tell you a little bit about Courting Kismet. It started out life as a NaNo novel in 2002. It was the first serious book I ever wrote, and I was aiming it at the old Harlequin Flipside market. It’s never been submitted, and is in the middle of a major overhaul.

But that’s the boring writer stuff.

The fun, who-the-heck-are-these-people stuff goes something like this: Serena Harrick is an uptight college drama professor who doesn’t think she’s uptight. Butch Callahan is a tough contractor with no intention of helping out some college geek, even if she is kinda cute. Add in amazingly bad timing, a stuffy ex-fiancee, and Serena’s inexplicable need to prove she’s moved on, and the wilds of Minnesota have never seemed so wild.

Someone on Twitter tonight told me I have wonderful titles. I’m glad she thinks so, because most of them I think suck like Hoovers. In fact, if anyone has a better idea for Courting, let me know. Follow the link to my website, and then click the Contact button.

On bigger and better news, the cover for Let’s Dish should be coming soon, and it really is spectacular. I can’t wait to be able to share it with you. I have a lot of upcomming blogs and chats scheduled in the next couple months, so be sure to check in regularly for updates.

So now I should go write. Right? Sigh… yeah. Time to crack the file.

Comments Off on I’m Supposed to be Writing

Filed under It's A Writing Life

Comments are closed.