Cheater

I have been indulging in a variety of cheater blogs this week, partly because I’m lazy, and partly because I’ve been living my life running from place to place at 50 mph. One of the things I’ve been involved with is the blurb sheet for Another Time Around. It’s due the end of the week, and I’m in trouble.

The blurb itself is okay. I am thanking God I have a specific blurb writer/editor at Samhain who will take my sad attempt and whip it into shape. She didn’t change much on the blurb for Let’s Dish, which I should apparently take as a compliment. But I am struggling for ATA. It will have many changes.

But the part I’m really struggling with is the tagline. A whole book in one sentence. Something that makes a reader want to buy the book. See? These are the dirty little secrets of the publishing biz. Not only do you have to write the book and the dreaded synopsis, but then you have to blurb the sucker and get a tagline. 300 pages becomes seven, then three paragraphs, then one sentence.

I am no good at taglines. This is what I have so far:

‘Till death us do part. Or at least until the past comes back to haunt you.

Or

When the past comes back to haunt her, will moving on cost a widow her life?

Or

Be careful what you wish for. It just may come back to haunt you.

All hideous.

What’s even worse, I need to come up with a list of comparable titles. Books that are similar to mine. I know of a movie that’s similar to mine, but books? I have found all of one, and it’s not even that similar.

So, dear readers, I come to you. Got a tagline suggestion for me? Besides burn the ones I have. How about a book that involves a widow haunted by her dead husband just when she finds the guy she could move on with. Stalkers and possible murderers optional.

3 Comments

Filed under It's A Writing Life

3 responses to “Cheater

  1. Honestly I do like the first one. It hooked me enough to read the blurb.

    I’m terrible at these two things. When Linden Bay wanted me to come up with a tie for the whole 5 book series in a couple of short sentances OMG I sucked at it.

    Luckily the LBR promo goddess helped me. We threw back a few ideas and eventually came up with:

    “In the time of King Alfred the Great, love in marriage is nothing more than fantasy—unless the whisper of your dream is heard. Discover what happens when passion is mixed with a hint of magic. Discover the world of Enchantress.”

    That covers the whole series in a nutshell, but I feel for you. It’s tough. It’s bad enough summarizing a huge novel into a couple pages for a synopsis and then a synopsis into a tag line.

    *shudder*

  2. The first tag for ATA, Amy, or my tag for Let’s Dish. The LD tag is waaaay better, but I can’t take credit for it. That goes to my buddy Lani, who is a wiz at this stuff. Even she’s stuck for ATA, though.

  3. And yes, thank God for promo folks!