Recession Chic

Well, the Dow is down again today, but just a little. Still, it breaks the four-day gain. Darnit. So in this day and age, a lot of us are having to watch our Ps and Qs – and dollars and cents. Even us rich and famous writer types.

Okay – I couldn’t even type that with a straight face.

Here at Casa del Catie, we have a fridge that’s about ten years old. It’s not stainless steel, it doesn’t have ice and filtered water in the door, but it keeps my stuff cold so I’m a happy camper. It’s got character, too. When my second son was a toddler, there wasn’t a child safety lock he couldn’t crack. Don’t ask me how much we spent on plumbers trying to get out Hot Wheels from the trap under the toilet. I learned to snake the sucker out of necessity. His second favorite object to break into was the fridge. At one point, I resorted – out of desperation – to Super Glue to hold the child safety lock on. It didn’t work. He ripped that off, too. Sigh. So one side of my not-so-perfect fridge also has Super Glue remnants.

My charming fridge has one more character flaw now. About a month ago, the little bar in the door that held in the milk jugs finally gave way. It’s called ten years of little boys pulling out gallon jugs of milk multiple times a day. The plastic that held it just gave way. We moved the milk and put the syrup, ketchup, etc. in the door, but the stupid thing still kept popping out every time it was opened. I had to figure out a way to fix it. There was no way I was going to buy a new fridge just because of a stupid piece of plastic.

Being a fan of Red Green, my first thought was the handyman’s helper – duct tape. But that was a titch tacky, even in these times. But it led me to the next best thing. Just about as strong, and hardly noticeable. Packing tape. Clear packing tape. Genius! No more plastic letting loose of my condiments. It works like a dream.

So if you ever find yourself in my kitchen, be sure to check out the fridge. Might be a little surprise in there. Like handygirl’s helper.

Oh, and as for the toddler I couldn’t keep out of anything? He’s a straight A student now. The price of intelligence, I guess. Remind me to tell you sometime about the fish tank heater.

4 Comments

Filed under Life? You Mean I Have To Have A Life?

4 responses to “Recession Chic

  1. LOL I had one of those fridges until last year. Okay, it didn’t have the superglue attachment, but we had the plastic thingy not holding anything anymore. The motor gave up the ghost last year and we splurged on one of those ice/water in the door fridges – that was a first.

    And OMG you know who Red Green is? I thought only Canucks knew him!

  2. Oh my gosh, I totally know Red Green! I kinda sorta have a thing for his nephew Harold, too. Saw that actor in a production of Music Man and whoa boy! LOL

  3. I saw the guy who played Harold LIVE at Test the Nation back in 2007 when I was part of the Romance Writers Team. πŸ™‚ He was on the celebrity team. I almost jumped out of my seat I was like OMG Harold.

    There’s something about nerds. LOL.

    And yeah I thought Red Green was a Canuck thing as well. πŸ™‚

  4. Well, we are awfully close to Canada. πŸ˜‰ I can get to Saskatewan quicker than I get to my parents’ house in Cheyenne.

    My doctor actually has an exam room dedicated to Red Green, including a signed photo and – oh shoot! I can’t remember what it is, but some sort of plaque that basically says he’s an honorary member of Possum Lodge. LOL