Feeling My Age

Many of you here know that there a leeetle bitty age difference between my husband and me. The unfair thing is he has less gray hair than I do, and I’m starting to develop what are politely known as “laugh lines”. Not him. Must be all those hot dogs and processed sausage he ate when he was single. Gotta be all those preservatives.

He teases me about this. Says I’m too concerned about coloring my hair, etc. and that I should just age gracefully. Well, that’s not working so well for me.

We were out to dinner last week, and I was trying to eat healthy, so I ordered a chicken breast with vegetables. It was right there on the menu. Didn’t know it would be a landmine. We get the bill, and it’s slightly less than I thought. Then I see it. Our eighteen-year-old waitress had put down that I had the senior chicken.

Senior.

Ron about had a coronary laughing. What a turkey. It’s bad enough I carry an AARP card in my late 30s (spouse joins free), but now I’m getting served the senior meal while chuckles gets a kick out of it. Kids thought it was hilarious, too.

Oh, who am I kidding? It was funny. Still, I don’t think I’m going to take quite as much grief for coloring my hair now. Maybe.

3 Comments

Filed under Life? You Mean I Have To Have A Life?

3 responses to “Feeling My Age

  1. Natasha A.

    I know I shouldn’t laugh…..but oh boy! lol That is um….funny…..
    Hubby (who is 6 years older than I am), my friend (my age) and myself went to the liquor store a few years ago. Hubby (who was 30 at the time) got ID’d while my friend and I stood there laughing. I can see what happened to you, happening to me in a few years! 😀
    At least you can (kinda) laugh about it right? 😀

  2. LOL Yes, I can kinda sorta laugh about it. When I was 13 and everyone thought I was 18, it was great! Now? Yeah. Not so great. 😉

  3. My hubby can identify. He started turning gray in his mid-20s (right after we had our first child). I’ll never forget the day he was given a senior’s discount (about 20 years prematurely). He was furious. Still is, and that was about 7 years ago, LOL.

    (I on the other hand…well, I keep getting mistaken as my son’s girlfriend. Mwahahaha!)