Well, at least the laptop works now…

Miss me? I’ve been gone awhile, haven’t I? Sorry about that – life threw us a massive curve ball.

Long story short, a little more than a week ago, my husband was diagnosed with leukemia. Multiple Myeloma, to be exact. It’s a very long, drawn-out story that actually started about six months ago with some health problems we thought were unrelated. Turns out they’re all related, and we found out last week he was in kidney failure. The cancer is treatable, but not curable, so we’re in for a long haul that started by him getting shipped to a hospital three hours from here for kidney treatment.

Fast forward to today and he’s home from the hospital, sitting across the room from me watching some old Spaghetti Western. We’re shaken and exhausted, but we’re already starting to get into the new routine of chemo. He actually feels better than he did before in certain ways.

So what does that mean for us here at the blog? Well, the laptop is home (yay!) with a new hard drive, so now I can actually get at a computer now and then. However, there will be bad days and weeks when I get nowhere near it. I’ll try to keep up as best I can.

As for the writing business, I have a new blurb for Another Time Around coming soon, and hopefully a cover. There will also be a new contest coming in June, so look for that.

In the meantime, though, I think this afternoon I’m going to take a nap. Cancer is a sneaky bastard, and it tends to leach the energy out of everyone around it.

4 Comments

Filed under Life? You Mean I Have To Have A Life?

4 responses to “Well, at least the laptop works now…

  1. *Hugs* to both you and your hubby (and your children too)

    I can’t imagine going through what you all are facing right now. And I have no idea what to say other than prayers and good thoughts are winging their way to you.

    If there’s anything I can do for you–help with promo, a phone call so you can unburden, anything, let me know.

  2. Oh, I’m so sorry to hear that. I’m sure you’re being a wonderful caretaker.

    You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.

  3. Oh honey big hugs to you.

    I watched my grandmother go for years through chemo after several rounds of pancreatic cancer.

    Cancer does leech into everything.

    Double big hugs.

  4. Oh wow…you take care of you and yours, girl. We love you!!!