Update

Shortly after my husband was diagnosed with cancer, I went to some writer buddies of mine for advice on how to deal with it in my public persona as a writer. I got answers ranging from, “Say nothing – folks want funny from you and cancer ain’t funny,” to, “Tell them everything. You’re human. Your readers like human.” Since I tend to err on the side of TMI most of the time, anyway, I decided to go with the latter.  After all, I have a big mouth. So if you’d rather not read up on the joy of chemotherapy, I’ll catch you next post.

The hubs finished his first cycle of Velcade (chemo) last Tuesday, and today says he feels better than he has in a long time. Great. Just in time for him to start his second cycle tomorrow. This stuff doesn’t seem to have some of the nasty side effects people expect from chemotherapy, but we hear that it can get worse as we progress. I hope not. They gave him one dose of a much stronger stuff -Cytoxan – when he was in the hospital, and true to their word, two weeks later he’s starting to lose his hair. He’s not too thin, yet, but that will probably be a different story by the end of the week.

My life right now is spent measuring his blood pressure twice a day and making sure he gets his meds on the right schedule. I am on summer schedule at work, so I’ll put in a half day at the office, shuttle the youngest to baseball practice, get the hubs to chemo, go pick up the kid, then go pick up the hubs. So far cancer in our family has meant less about being sick and more about being in the car. And the waiting room. The good news, though, is that I am catching up on my reading. The bad news is I’m falling behind on my writing.

A few folks I know here locally said once that what we need is a support group for writers who aren’t writing. I would totally fit in that group lately. Hoping to rectify that some this afternoon, though, and as soon as I finish this entry, I’m opening Happy Medium and getting something down. I need to get back into Alex’s head – and maybe out of mine for awhile. At least a few hours until the hubs needs his next dose.

6 Comments

Filed under Life? You Mean I Have To Have A Life?

6 responses to “Update

  1. Rebecca

    Such a great line, Cate: “So far cancer in our family has meant less about being sick and more about being in the car.” You’re a good writer even when you’re not trying to be!

  2. LOL Reb – but you’d say that no matter what I wrote. But I love you for it, don’t get me wrong. 🙂

  3. *Hugs*

    When I was running back and forth to the hospital when my dad was sick last year (and spending several hours a day comforting my mom) I thought I’d never get to concentrate enough to write. But I found that when I did sit down, it was a relief to be able to concentrate on something other than all their issues. It was my stress-buster. Hopefully it’ll work the same way for you.

    *more hugs for you and hubby*

  4. Big hugs to you and yours, Cate. I agree with Rebecca about that line. I like it.

  5. Hang in there — I lost my dad to cancer some 17 years ago, and my mom is a breast cancer survivor of 40+ years. Best of luck and positive thoughts to you and your husband!

  6. Glad I found your blog through Leah. I’ve been thinking about you and what you are going through.

    It’s new territory everyday when someone you love has cancer and each member learns to deal with it daily as the needs change. Be gentle with each other. Pamper each other. It takes everything in you to learn to live with it.

    I said, live with it. So so many people are finding out that cancer is something we live with. It could be just another crazy facet of our busy lives, lol, if weren’t for the financial and other burdens it causes. I feel for you with your other responsibilities.

    When my father and mother were ill, I journaled A LOT, and now I draw on some of those emotional pages to create, when I couldn’t create then. But it was still an emotional outlet. So often the journal and your prayers are the only places you can say what’s on your heart. You’re so busy being everybody’s pick-me upper.

    My very best wishes and hugs for your family. If I can ever do anything to help please let me know.