The Boys of Summer

Well, aside from the obvious, there are a lot of reasons why this summer has been kind of crazy at Casa Del Catie. One of those reasons is baseball.

The youngest has gotten to Little League age – D minor for those of you who know what that means. I don’t. At any rate, he went from three days of ball a week last summer to five this summer- with three games per week! But he gets a uniform this year, and ommigod he’s cute. (He’d shoot me for saying that.) Luckily, since I’m single-parenting this summer (with an additional “child” who has a lot of doctor appointments) my boss is letting me work half days so I can get the kiddo to all his games and practices. I’m learning a lot about baseball. Like a foul is considered a strike unless it’s on the third strike. And you can’t make a run on the third strike. And you can’t run to first if it’s the second Tuesday of the month and the runner on second is facing north.

Kidding.

But seriously! Who knew there were all these screwy rules in baseball? People who like baseball, I guess. Not me. But the kid seems to get it. I just watch and look stupid.

The oldest has summer school this year – actually extended school year, designed to help him retain what he learned during the school year. Waste of time if you ask me, since it runs for four weeks right after school let out. Then they get two months to lose everything. Oh well, he enjoys it and loves loves loves his teachers.

The middle child (his words, not mine) is spending his summer on the computer so far. Well, he does go to the park sometimes, and I signed him up (a little against his will) to go to history camp for a day. That sounds like fun to me. I’d love to go. But I have to be at baseball that day.

And of course the biggest kid has finished his second cycle of chemo and now we see the doc on Friday. He’s doing well, by the way. Seems pretty strong and feels relatively well. Someone asked me the other day how I was holding up. I told them I was beyond the sad, shocked stage and now I’m just irritated and annoyed. Pretty much my standard state of being, so it’s all good.

Wow – I’m rambling today!

So anyway, I’m not getting a whole lot of writing done, which is why I am really trying to throw myself into this NaNo-esque thing my write club is doing. I have some words down, but mostly I’m still exploring the characters. As an exercise the other night, we described our main characters from another character’s point of view. What I wrote tells more about Jeff (our hero) than it does about Alex (our heroine), but I thought I’d share it here. So, in the course of ten minutes, here’s what I wrote:

Okay, so she’s kind of a nut job. But she’s a cute nut job – not that she’d be anything I’d go for. But she’s like a slave to that family of hers. I don’t know why – she’s smart enough and has talent. I just don’t get it.

Looks? Oh, well, she’s comfortable looking. Pretty enough, but not exactly a girl in a magazine. But when she’s in the sunlight, her hair kind of shines reddish, and her eyes are green. What is that, Irish? Yeah, maybe Irish. But she’s more like a girl you could hang out and watch football with. You know, comfortable.

Not that she’s anything I’d go for.

Comments Off on The Boys of Summer

Filed under It's A Writing Life, Life? You Mean I Have To Have A Life?, The One Where I Waffle On About The Kids

Comments are closed.