Name That Hero, Win a Book!

One of the aspects of writing that I’ve always struggled with are names. I cannot name a hero or heroine to save my life, even with a small library of baby name books at my disposal. (We won’t talk about how long it took me to actually name my kids.) Titles are even worse, but in the grand scheme of things, I don’t think they’re quite as important as what you name your characters. You want the reader to fall in love with your hero, and that could be hard if his name is something like Seymour. Now, I had a cat named Seymour and I adored him, but it’s hard to imagine your fantasy man when you’re too busy picturing Rick Moranis in Little Shop of Horrors. (Apologies to any Seymours out there. It’s a perfectly wonderful name, but it’s just not romance hero-y, that’s all.)

Then again, I’m not into off-the-wall names like Bramble and Stone. I’ve read books where there are so many unusual names for characters that you have trouble remebering who is whom just because you’re too busy  trying to figure out how to pronounce them.  No, I like my simple, everyday, white bread names. I am boring.

However, I think I really walk the line of too dull. I mean so far my heroes are named Kevin, David and now, in Happy Medium, I’ve got Jeff. Mind you, I like the name Jeff. It’s kind of my go-to placemarker name. In fact, this is the third Jeff I’ve used in various works-in-progress. So I need to either use Jeff for real this time, or I need to come up with something better. And that’s where you come in.

What do you think my hero should be named?  Here’s how it works – below is a descrition of the character. You suggest a name in the comments section or email me at cate@catherinewade.com, and I’ll draw an entry at random to win their choice of a Samhain e-book.  Winner to be drawn Friday, July 17th. What could be easier?

Okay, so “Jeff” is a cop. Not a tough-as-nails kinda guy, but smart, competant, and very skeptical about the occult. So when voices start telling him what to do, he insists it’s just his gut instinct kicking in. He works in homicide, but when he comes accross the Blotz family, who do “spirit readings” from their bookstore, he’s not above trying to close them down – especially when they’re taking advantage of his partner’s widow. But are they really the frauds he thinks they are? And what does he do when he falls for the smart-mouthed daughter, Alexandria?

So name that hero, folks!

10 Comments

Filed under Contests

10 responses to “Name That Hero, Win a Book!

  1. I like the name Evan Dallas or Geoff Rivers.

  2. Hmm, this is a tough one. I’ll think about it though. 🙂

    I like the names of the characters in Let’s Dish by the way. They’re all very fitting.

  3. Thanks, Melina. Don’t ask me where they came from. Maggie and Armand were the two that came first – and Armand was supposed to be the hero. But he liked Lyla better. 😉

    Evan is good, LadyVamp. Might have to let that one roll around in my brain for awhile.

  4. Karla

    I can assure you I don’t know anyone named Jeff that is a hero. How about the name Eric James. I didn’t give it a lot of thought, it just popped into my head.

  5. Awww, Karla. No Jeffs for you? 😉 And believe it or not, I didn’t even think about that until you pointed it out.

    Eric is good, except a friend of mine has a son named Eric, and I don’t think I could get it out of my head. Even if he’s in his 20s now, I couldn’t write a sexy scene without seeing him, and it would just freak me out. And I know a James way too well to use that one, too.

    See? There’s the problem. All the good names are already taken by people I know!

  6. Bella

    Hmmmm. Jake. Lucas/Luke. Quinn. Kyle. Pierce. Cop-like *and* sexy.

    I could also offer Clint, Justin, Tyler, or Logan.

    BTW, the “Blotz” family does “spirit readings” — now that is a perfect name for those characters!

    Cheers,
    ~bella

  7. Hehehe Bella – thanks. Blotz came to me before the plot, along with Great Grandma Euphedora. Now she’s definitely not boring.

  8. iokijo

    Dante, Gabe, Joshua, Grey, Craig

    What does “Jeff” look like.. blonde, dark etc. Some names just seem to go with certain coloring..
    Dante & Gabe make me think of dark hair, and dark eyes.. Joshua blue eyes, Grey lighter coloring and Craig blonde..

  9. Shell Bryce

    Bryce Hunter, Brady Francis, …… just no more Josh, Jason or Dante…. they are used wayyyyy too much…. LOL

  10. paula farrell

    Gavin Sterling (can’t explain it … just love the name)