Have it Your Way

Okay, so there have been a lot of reasons why I’ve been so indecisive lately, not the least of which is having a husband who has been home sick for the last two months. Still, I need to pick a writing project and stick with it. Or quit. There’s always that option.

Kidding. Kinda.

I started out the summer working on Courting Kismet, which is a book I wrote in 2002 and was my first serious attempt at fiction. It’s a romantic comedy that was originally aimed at the Harlequin Flipsides line (remember that one?) but it needs a LOT of work. Needs basically re-written from the top down. In other words, lazy old me just didn’t have that much ambition.

The I re-read my 2007 NaNo project Guys and Dogs. This is a finished and almost-polished book. Just needs a quick run-through and a few re-writes, but since it started out as a romantic comedy and got waaaay more serious than I anticipated, I put it away.

So then I started working on Happy Medium. This is a whole new project I started about a year ago. I was very excited about it when I first got the idea, but then I sold Let’s Dish and got sidetracked working on it and Another Time Around. Now I’m having a heckuva time getting back into it, and progress is extremely slow. And the scenes are extremely bad.

So here’s where you come in. Since I obviously can’t make up my mind as to what I want to work on, I need your input. What do you want to read? What should I put my efforts toward? Here’s a very breif descrition of each book:

Courting Kismet– A college drama professor fakes a relationship with the town hottie to get back at her ex-fiance, while she tries to mount a production of Kismet with a unique cast of characters.

Guys and Dogs– A veterinarian is forced to face a huge mistake when her best friend dates her ex-fiance, whom she dumped to marry a successful but shady psychiatrist.

Happy Medium – A psychic medium has been hiding her talents since she was a kid, but when a dead cop demands her attention, she fights her attraction to his partner – a man who could destroy everything her family has worked for.

And now you know why I am the worst at writing blurbs and taglines.

So what do you think? What would you want to read?

3 Comments

Filed under It's A Writing Life

3 responses to “Have it Your Way

  1. I don’t know why but Happy Medium is drawing me towards it……….hehe. It does sound really good. I have so many projects in the works just as you do. I really wanted to get my poetry book “A Brand Of My Own” published before my Dad died and never did. I even worked on a cover and everything. I guess its never too late to start! Good luck and thanks for inviting us to help you.

  2. Rebecca

    Happy Medium
    Courting Kismet
    Guys & Dogs

    in other words, all of them! 🙂

  3. Big help you are, Rebecca. 😉

    I want to work on Happy Medium, but I’m so blocked on it… ARGH! Frustrating!