What I Did On My Summer Vacation

Since tomorrow marks my return to the day job for the school year, I thought I’d do a post in homage to all those back-to-school essay assignments of days gone by. We’d had a lot planned for this summer, including a trip to the Omaha Zoo, Cub Scout camping in Minnesota, and a trip to Cheyenne to visit my folks and go to my 20-year high school reunion.

None of that happened.

Instead, we went to doctors’ offices, attended a billion Little League games, and watched my husband’s hair fall out, thanks to his chemo. But there was some fun to be had, including baseball. We went to the local water park a lot, Boys in their Suits and even managed a quick day trip to Watertown. We went to the small but quite fun zoo, the Mellette House, the museum, and the Redlin Art Center. We packed a lot into one day, and the kids had a blast.  I was exhausted, but had a great time. Boys at the Watertown Zoo

And summer’s not quite done just yet. We still have a couple weeks of water park fun, and we’ll be doing a small local camp out with Cub Scouts. Yeah, I’m a little less excited about that one, but it should be fun.

Oh, there’s something else I worked on this summer. And you can buy it in September.

2 Comments

Filed under Just for Fun, Life? You Mean I Have To Have A Life?

2 responses to “What I Did On My Summer Vacation

  1. Rebecca

    LOL! Great pics! You can really see the brotherly resemblance in the pic from the zoo. They’re so cute, Catie.

  2. Well, I think so, but I’m a little biased. 🙂