Recipe of the Week – Pork Chops and Stuffing

This is a recipe my sister asked for not long ago, and one I’d forgotten about. Used to be one of my stand-bys and my kids loved it, but then as I sought new and different dishes, it fell out of my repertoire. Fair warning, it contains canned soup. The only reason I mention that is because of the irksome character on Food Network’s Chopped who said that canned soup was only for people who couldn’t cook. And then he proceeded to put salt in his cake batter instead of sugar.  And I can’t cook? If you’re really gung ho, you can make your own sauce for the stuffing.

Ingredients:

4-6 pork chops

1 can cream of celery soup

1 cup milk (can substiture chicken or vegetable broth)

1 sleeve saltine crackers, crushed

1/2 onion, finely diced

salt and pepper to taste

Season chops with salt and pepper and brown in a skillet until just seared (1 minute or so per side).  In a bowl, combine crushed saltines, milk, and onion. Pour into a 9 x 12 pan, place chops on top of stuffing mixture, and bake at 400 degrees until chops are done (1/2 hour to an hour, depending on thickness).

If you have thick chops, you can butterfly and stuff them, but honestly, who has time?

By the way, if you have a recipe you’d like to share, email me at cate@catherinewade.com and I might feature it as a recipe of the week!  And I might feature it in my dining room, too. Always looking for new ideas.  Aren’t we all?

Comments Off on Recipe of the Week – Pork Chops and Stuffing

Filed under Recipes

Comments are closed.