Catie’s Rule of Threes

I have a thing for the number three. I have three kids, three cats – hell, I’d probably have three dogs if that weren’t a level of insanity beyond even my capacity. I have three candle sticks on my fireplace mantle, three pictures across my wall, and even put out three things every night at dinner. The other day I did two, since the vegetable and the starch were combined, and my plate felt naked.

Yeah, three and I have a weird thing going. So how come I’ve only sold two books?

That’s what’s bugging me lately. It took me forever to sell my first book, but Another Time Around sold very quickly after Let’s Dish. It’s not like I don’t have anything close to a sellable state – heck, I’ve been working on two books that could be ready very quickly if I just got down to it – but there’s the problem. I haven’t been able to get down to it.

Firstly, selling itself creates a boatload of work. You have to edit your book, edit it again, do line edits, galleys, promo, yada yada. The amount of work after the sale was really surprising to me. That distracted me from working on my other books. Then life – correction, cancer – got in the way. I tried to write this summer, and it was impossible. I just couldn’t concentrate. However, when my darling husband went in for his hip replacement, I edited a nearly a third of a book just waiting for him to come out. I was home with him for two weeks and intended to get the rest done, but…

That actually brings me to the other thing that’s been distracting me: the day job. Last year was crazy here at the office, and this year doesn’t look much better. I’d love to be able to leave this place behind and concentrate on my writing, but I kind of like my house, heat, and my three-item dinners.

So where does that leave me? Where about 99% of working writers are. I have to set aside time, work on weekends and in the evenings, and stop watching DIY Network all the time. Time to buckle down and get Guys and Dogs ready to come off my hard drive and go out into the world. And for that, I need your help. Ready to be my guinea pigs? I want to drop the first sample by the end of this week.

And then, of course, I’ll have to do three.

Comments Off on Catie’s Rule of Threes

Filed under It's A Writing Life, Life? You Mean I Have To Have A Life?

Comments are closed.