Recipe of the Week – Caramel Dip

I am spending the week trying to get a book in my head (NaNo starts Sunday) and trying to get the crud out of my sinuses. Still, when my neighbor brought over a huge bag of apples the other day, I had one thought: caramel.  I love caramel-dipped apples, and adore caramel on ice cream, so I thought I would share a little dip I made up last night.

Ingredients:
1/2 stick salted butter
2 cups brown sugar
1 can sweetened condensed milk

In a medium saucepan, melt butter over medium-high heat. Add sugar and stir until moistened by butter. Add milk slowly by thirds, stirring after each addition. Allow to boil for 15 minutes, adjusting heat accordingly and stirring frequently so it does not burn.

Now this step is vital – allow to cool for 1/2 hour. Otherwise your first bite might lead you to the ER. This stuff is hot when it comes out of the pan.

Can be used to dip fruit, put over ice cream, as a cake or pie topping – anywhere you’d use caramel!

I brought a little bit to work with me today, and will heat it for about 30 seconds in the microwave before dipping my apple. Yummy!!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Recipe of the Week – Caramel Dip

  1. Natasha A.

    Yum Yum Yum! I make something similar for pancakes/crepes/french toast. Equal parts of brown sugar and whipping cream (not whipped cream). Mix together in a pot. Boil for about 10 minutes (you may have to adjust depending on what your equal parts are. I usually do 1 cup of each). Then drop a tablespoon of butter in, let it melt, and there ya go. SOOO good!