Extreme Editing – Hospital Edition

There are a few silver linings to being stuck at the hospital while we wait for my husband to recover from his stem cell transplant. One of those is that I’ve had time to go back to Guys and Dogs. First off, let me share the setup here. We’re not in the hospital proper – as in, he’s not in a hospital bed in a room tended by nurses. Nope, that ended a week ago. Now we’re staying in the transplant house, which is sort of like a hotel. We have two rooms. He sleeps in the bedroom, and I sit here on the rock-hard love seat in the living room and write.

Well, technically, I edit. I wrote Guys and Dogs for NaNoWriMo a couple years ago. It started out fun and funny. Then it got – real. The rat-bastard husband started acting like a rat bastard. The heroine’s conflict got very deep and…well, conflicting! It wasn’t the comedy I had hoped for, that was for sure.

However, now I’m going back to read it and it doesn’t suck. Not totally, of course. And I also have the advantage of going through the process of professional editing since I wrote this book, so I am able to spot some of the more obvious errors and fix them. And, even better, I’m enjoying myself. I’m having fun! I missed this, and since my sleep-deprived brain doesn’t actually have to come up with anything new, I can sit back and just go with the flow.

But there’s the issue. Sleep deprivation. Being in a hotel room with a man who’s just had his entire immune system destroyed and rebuilt means I do have some duties to him, most of which seem to happen every hour or so at night. He’s improving, but still gets up a lot at night, and needs to get food and fluids at all hours. So the question is this: am I so pleased with this book because it’s good, or is it just that my addled brain just thinks it’s good.

In the end, there’s only one way to find out: finish it, run it up the flagpole, and see if anyone shoots at it.

Wish me luck.

Comments Off on Extreme Editing – Hospital Edition

Filed under It's A Writing Life

Comments are closed.