Oh for Pete’s Sake, Evelyn!

So I am slowly chipping away writing Cursed. It’s a slow process, hindered, as usual, by life being me. But it is progressing, and I even think I know how I’m going to end this thing. That might not sound like the miracle it is, but considering I’m a pantser (I don’t plot,for those nonwriters out there), the fact that I was able to write a loose plot synopsis before I finished writing the book is pretty impressive. Well, it is to me, anyway.

So I decided that it was time to drum up interest by shopping it around as a proposal – three completed chapters and a synopsis. I have plenty of it written, being up to Chapter Ten, and I have a proven track record that I can finish a book and deliver on a deadline.

So I needed to do three things: polish the first three chapters (check); write a synopsis (check); and write a query letter (uhhh- no check…yet). But tonight I sat down and decided to write another scene. It was an innocent enough plan. I had the scene in my head, so I was just going to jot it down.

But then I got about halfway through the scene and realized something – I was writing in first person. The rest of what I’ve written is in third person. Easy enough to fix, right? Just go back and re-write the scene in third.

Yeah. Thing is, Evelyn, the main character, doesn’t want to be in third person anymore. She is talking to me in first person. She wants to tell her story in her voice, and boy has she found her voice.

If you listen to writers talk, you’ll hear us talk about how characters take on a life of their own and do what they want to do. Heck, I’ve mentioned it more than once here, and my kids still look at me like I’m nuts when I say stuff like that. Hey, I agree with you. It sounds crazy. How can a fictional character, who isn’t even real, have free will and do stuff to change a story?

Well, you’ve got me. All I know is Evelyn just threw a monkey wrench into my wonderful plan to shop around Cursed. Before I can write that query letter, I have to go back and re-write the whole darned book in first person. Inevitably, this will lead to more editing, which can only make the book better. But that’s not the point! I’m mad at Evelyn!

Darned fictional character. Who does she think she is, anyway?

2 Comments

Filed under It's A Writing Life

2 responses to “Oh for Pete’s Sake, Evelyn!

  1. J'ana

    I hate it when that happens. And it does and those darn characters just take on a life of their own and almost take over the book. Sometimes you can change it back but like you said it is easier to let them have their way and change it into first person;) I can’t wait to read it! Love your writing! Keep it up girl.

  2. Thanks, J’ana. hopefully I can get a publisher to buy it soon so you can read it. LOL Then again, I have to finish it first. If the characters cooperate.